Book Review: Behind Closed Doors by B. A. Paris

So a couple of weeks ago, I read the book Behind Closed Doors by B. A. Paris. This was a book that my mum had just finished reading, and so I borrowed it off of her. Sorry for any spoilers that I may give!

About the book…

This book is about the ‘perfect couple’ (Jack and Grace) that everyone knows. You can’t find any faults with them apart from that the pair are never apart from one another. As you can guess, all is not how it seems on the outside. Jack is actually very psychologically abusive to Grace. However, he does not actually want to hurt Grace and is instead more interested in getting to her disabled sister Millie.

This book is not the next Gone Girl like the reviews on the cover suggest, but is definietly a great page turner. It was quite predictable as to what would happen as obviously, no couple is perfect. The book switches from past to present from chapter to chapter, making it easy for us to see how the abuse gradually gets worse and worse. This also allows us to get a better understanding of each of the characters in the book.

This book was very fast paced, which brung about a negative of the book – that there was not much depth to it. However, this was overcome by the fact that the book was very intense and made you wanting to read more. Almost every chapter ended on a cliffhanger – making you want to carry on reading. I found it so hard to put down.

I think that I would give this book 4 out of 5 stars. This is because even though it did not have much depth, it drew me in instantly and I found it so hard to put down. It was a good page turner and I would definietly reccommend.

If you would like to pick up this book, you should be able to find it in your local high street book shop such as Waterstones or W.H. Smith for around £7.99. You can also pick it up on ebay here, or on amazon here.

I hope you’ve enjoyed my review of this book! Here is the link to my Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/64750084-vicky-massen

Vicky x

Leave a Reply

