Book Review: Just What Kind of Mother Are You? by Paula Daly

So a couple of months ago I decided to read the book Just what kind of mother are you? by Paula Daly. The main reason that I picked up this book, was because I found a deal for it on my O2 priority. O2 often have priority deals on books in partnership with W H Smiths, where you can go and purchase these new books with an RRP of £7.99, for just £1.

Sorry for any spoilers ahead!

About the book…

The book follows the perspective of both the mother, Lisa Kallisto, and the detective working on the case of the missing girl.

Lisa has a very busy life working a full time job, as well as looking after her husband and three children. Her daughter is meant to be bringing a friend from school round, but she never turns up. However due to her hectic lifestyle, Lisa forgets that the girl was ever meant to be coming round. The girl then goes missing and an investigaton goes on as to what has happened to the girl, and a lot of blame gets put on Lisa.

So what did I think…

There are both things I liked and did not like about this book.

One of the things that I liked about the book was that there is a lot of depth into the life of the main character, Lisa Kallisto. You get to see every aspect of her life, from her family life, her work as well as things that she has done wrong in the past. However, I feel like you are meant to feel sorry for her a lot of the time and I didn’t really get that connection. Maybe this is because I am not a mother and so cannot really relate to her?

Another good thing, is that I was left wondering a lot of the time what actually happened to the girl. It is not revealed until right at the end of the book as to what actually happened to the girl and this is quite a twist in the story. Throughout,  I felt that there were many people who could have been the criminal, who could have taken the girl, but not once did I think that Lisa was to blame for the disappearance of the girl. I dont know if this was what the author was trying to get across, or if you are meant to feel guilty for her disappearance like Lisa does? But I did not feel like Lisa was to blame in any way.

This leads on to what I did not like about the book. The way that the girl went ‘missing’. The girl was best friends with Lisa’s daughter and was meant to be coming round after school that night so that they could complete a school project together. However, the missing girl text Lisa’s daughter to tell her that she would not be coming round as she did not feel well. This just made me think, how in any way was this Lisa’s fault? Maybe there was a miscommunitcation between her and the girl’s mother, but still it was not her fault. Due to me feelings about this, I was left annoyed for most of the book and almost put it down when I found this out.

However, I persisted with the book and did end up enjoying many of the twists within the book and the bigger twist at the end.

Overall, I would give this book 3 out of 5 stars. This is because I did not really think that she was to blame which led me to not think much of her guilt. However, the ending and some of the twists within the book helped to make it a bit more enjoyable.

If you would like to pick up this book, you can get it from your local high street book shop such as Smiths or Waterstones. You can also get it on ebay here, or from amazon here.

I hope you enjoyed my book review, I will be writing another during the week. I have also joined netgalley.com, where I am able to read and review books that are yet to be published.

Thank you for reading,

Vicky x

Leave a Reply

