Book Review: Missing Presumed by Susie Steiner

I finished reading Missing Presumed by Susie Steiner a couple of days ago. This is another book that I borrowed off of my Mum, from the huge pile of books we share!

Sorry for any potential spoilers that may be found ahead!

About the book…

The book follows the investigation and the family of a local Cambridge student, Edith Hind, who goes missing suddenly. It primarily focuses on the movements of Manon – a detective working on the case. Many secrets about the life of Edith and her family are revealed throughout the book.

So what did I think…

There were many things that I liked and disliked about this book. I would say that there was a lot more like than dislike.

One of the things that I enjoyed about this book was the portyal of the characters throughout. Manon seemed very normal and must also be relatable to many people reading the book. She has had a lot of misfortune in her life and is very focused on her career. She is also yet to settle down and have a family at the age of 39, leaving her worrying if she is still able to have children. This leads to us following her failed dates and relationships, as well as the investigation. Because of this insight into her day-to-day life, it is as if you develop a relationship with her yourself. You feel all of her emotions as she goes through them.

Another thing that I enjoyed about this book was that you were left womdering about what had happened throughout. I found it to be a real page turner. There were also quite a few twists which surprised me.

On the other hand, I found the ending a little predictable. It was obvious throughout that Edith was very self-absorbed and didn’t really care much for others. This is why I knew that she would have just ran away, instead of turning up dead. I really did not like her character.

At the end of the book there was also an extra chapter which follows Manon’s life a year after the investigation. I really didn’t think this chapter was really needed as it didn’t really relate to the book.

Overall, I would give this book 4 out of 5 stars. I really did enjoy reading this and I was very close to giving it 5 stars.

If you would like to pick up this book and give it a read, you can pick it up from your local book shop. You can also get it from ebay here, and amazon here.

Thank you for reading,

Vicky x

Leave a Reply

